Welcome to the Faculty of Social Sciences!

The Faculty of Social Sciences is one of currently 15 faculties and five centers of the University of Vienna. It engages in both research and teaching, which are considered inseparable constituents of higher education. The Faculty is a place of tertiary and continuing education, giving students the opportunity to specialise in a wide range of disciplines and thematic areas. Engaging in analyses of the structures and problems of contemporary societies is key to research at the Faculty.

The Faculty’s research contributes significantly to finding answers to academic questions of great social relevance, and thus to fulfilling the social function and responsibility of both the University and science in general. To this end, the Faculty engages in well-established intra- and interdisciplinary research areas as well as innovative multidisciplinary research, cooperating across different subjects within the Faculty, as well as with other faculties and international, national and local research institutions. Pursuing critical reflection on the structure and problems of present-day society is among the guiding principles of its research activities.

Students of the Faculty of Social Sciences study in bachelor's, master's and doctoral programmes in Political Science, Social and Cultural Anthropology, Communication, Sociology, which partially are among the largest degree programmes in Europe, as well as in master's or doctoral programmes in Nursing Science, Gender Studies, Development Studies and Science and Technology Studies.



Current vacancies

The Faculty of Social Sciences is currently advertising:

Communication with a Focus on Media Change and Media Innovation
(full time, permanent position)
The application deadline is 15 April 2020.

Communication with a Focus on Media Entertainment Research
(full time, permanent position)
The application deadline is 15 April 2020.

Visiting Professor of Communication Science
(full time, for the period of 1 October 2020 – 30 September 2021)
The application deadline is 7 April 2020.