Neues Institutsgebäude der Universität Wien

Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science is active in all major fields of political science, it develops innovative and problem-focused research areas and offers various options for specialization in the study of political science. The focus of research is on the transformation of governance, statehood and democracy in different policy areas, geographical regions and political spaces.

The Shanghai Ranking “Global Ranking of Academic Subjects 2019” ranks the University of Vienna in “Political Sciences” among the top 100 universities of the world. The field is ranked at position 76-100 together with the University of Bern and the University of Frankfurt. Together with these institutions, the field ranks fifth among German speaking universities behind the University of Zürich, the University of Mannheim, ETH Zürich and the University of Konstanz.

Head of Department:

Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Barbara Prainsack